Image

[Short Reviews] 6 New Fall Favorites

Congratulations friends, we finally made it to fall! Tis the season for pumpkin spice and everything nice, including, I hope, a good book. Being my favorite season, I’ll gladly admit I kicked off my fall TBR the minute Pumpkin Spice Lattes were back at Starbucks. If only the Houston weather would catch up… 😊

36342330 23719471 25094955

The Hollow of Fear (Lady Sherlock, #3) by Sherry Thomas: Set at Lord Ingram’s country estate, the latest installment of Lady Sherlock takes a dark turn when his own wife is found dead in the ice house. With wicked wit and a slew of plum cakes, Charlotte stops at nothing to prove his innocence. I can’t wait to see where the next book takes these characters! (5 Stars)

The Castle of Kings by Oliver Potzsch: On the hefty side of 600 pages, A Castle of Kings proved to be the perfect start into my fall TBR. Full of magic and knightly intrigues, the novel instantly transports you to medieval Germany as lifelong friends Agnes and Mathis are trapped amidst lore and legend. (5 Stars)

Bellewether by Susanna Kearsley: A charming fall romance countered by the unlikely pairing of a young girl and a gallant, although very French, soldier during the Seven Years War. The modern-day romance made this a delectable read as the male counterpart is perhaps the sincerest suitor I’ve ever read, but sadly, the ending to this one felt rushed and unfinished. (4 Stars)

35603805 18007535 30375937

Nightbooks by J.A. White: For fans of Neil Gaiman, Nightbooks conjures a magical middle-grade adventure full of courage and creativity. I’ll most definitely be adding The Thickety to next year’s fall TBR, also by J.A. White. (5 Stars)

The Winter People by Jennifer McMahon: Set amidst the wilds of Vermont, The Winter People sets the stage for Halloween as an old legend comes to life, begging for its next victim. If you’re looking for chills, this is the book for you! (4 Stars)

Escaping from Houdini (Stalking Jack the Ripper, #3) by Kerri Maniscalco: Voyaging across the Atlantic Ocean, Audrey Rose and the cunning Mr. Cresswell take centerstage as a murder takes advantage of the cruise line’s entertainment to hide his mischief. Though eerily like the last installment (just insert Houdini for Dracula and a boat for a castle), I can’t help but fall for the couple’s witty banter as their cat-and-mouse game continues. (4 Stars)

What are you reading this fall?

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s